About Us
About Us

Our structure | Our awards | Our motto | Our aims | Our office bearers | Our delegates | Our coordinator and adviser roles

Our structure

The National Council of Women of NSW Inc. is one of the oldest women’s organisations in Australia and is the coordinating body for around 30 affiliated organisations as well as a large number of individual members.

NCW NSW coordinates the concerns of scores of member organisations and a similar number of individual members as they work to improve the status of women and their families in NSW. The organisation is non-sectarian and non-party political.

State councils are linked through the National Council of Women Australia (NCWA) and the Asia Pacific Regional Council (APRC) to the International Council of Women (ICW), which has Category 1 consultative status in the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations. See links at bottom of page.

Our awards

Awards are presented each year to promote the work of the Council.
  • Australia Day Award – to assist students to continue their studies
  • Jean Arnot Memorial Fellowship Prize for excellence in librarianship; recognition of our women (90+ year olds) who have served their local communities 
    (Pictures 2018) (Pictures 2019)
  • NCW Award – recognition of women’s voluntary community work
  • Dame Marie Bashir Peace Award – for students who have shown great leadership in creating social justice and harmony in their schools and communities.

    Australia Day Awards 2016
Our motto

Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

Our aims
  • To work for the removal of all discrimination against women and the family, and to promote equal status of women in law and in fact
  • To assess and summarise women's opinions on all matters that affect the community
  • To inform members about matters of interest and concern through the NCW NEWS as well as specialist guest speakers at monthly meetings
  • To consult with government when opinion or fact is sought on questions affecting the status, problems and needs of women and children and to express an opinion to the government of the day when necessary
Our office bearersPresident Julie Morris

PatronMargaret Joan Beazley, AC, QC
President - Julie Morris
Vice-President - Dr Anne Sheehan
Vice-President - Margaret (Peg) McEntee
Honorary Secretary - Tonya Valentino
Assistant Secretary - Karen Binstead
Honorary Treasurer - Margaret Wood
Individual Members’ Representative - Karen Binstead
State Coordinator of Standing Committees - Karen Binstead
Immediate Past President - Annie Kiefer
Public Officer - Karen Binstead
Returning Officer - Sally Fennell

Our delegates representing affiliated organisations

Feminist Legal Clinic - Anna Kerr
Girl Guides NSW ACT & NT - Margaret Wood
Graduate Women - NSW - Maria Girdler
National Child Protection Alliance - Niki Norris AM
National Council of Jewish Women Aust. NSW - Maxine Bachmeyer
Soroptimist International - Region of NSW - Lesley Lawson
Marie Bashir Peace Awards
The Mothers' Union Sydney - Tricia Graham
Women Lawyers' Association of NSW Inc - Rebecca Haynes

Awards Convenors:
Australia Day - 'Tricia Blomberry
Dame Marie Bashir Peace - Sally Fennell
Jean Arnot Awards - Julie Morris

Our coordinator and adviser roles


Education, Mass Media, Arts and Letters, Music
GENERAL WELLBEINGNutrition, Habitat, Health, Environment
Youth, Child and Family, Ageing, Migration
Implementation of Conventions, Legislation, Human Rights, International Relations and Peace
Economics, Consumer Affairs, Rural and Urban Women, Women and Employment

Description of photo here2020-2021 AFFILIATED ORGANISATIONS
Australian Church Women NSW State Unit Inc.
Australian Federation of Graduate Women NSW Inc.Catholic Women’s
League Australia – NSW Inc.
Catholic Women’s League Australia Parramatta Diocese
Catholic Women’s League Australia Sydney
Catholic Women’s League Australia Wollongong Diocese
Feminist Legal Clinic
Girl Guides NSW ACT NT
Illawarra Quota Inc.
Loreto Kirribilli Ex-Students’ Union
National Child Protection Alliance
National Council of Jewish Women of Australia NSW Division
NSW Women in Agriculture Inc. Pan Pacific & South East Asia Women’s Association (NSW PPSEAWA)
Presbyterian Women’s Association of Australia in NSW
Soroptimist International Region of NSW Inc.
St Catherine’s Old Girls Union
Sydney High School Old Girls Union Inc.
Sydney Lithuanian Women’s Social Services Association Inc.
The Great Synagogue Women’s Auxiliary
The Mothers’ Union Australia Diocese of Sydney
The Women’s Club
The Women’s Pioneer Society of Australasia Inc.
Ukrainian Women’s Association in Australia (NSW)
Ukrainian Women’s Association Lidcombe
Ukrainian Women’s Association in Australia, Anna Yaroslavna Branch
Uniting Church Adult Fellowship NSW/ACT Synod
Women Lawyers’ Association of NSW
Women’s Plans Foundation
Zonta Club of Sydney Inc.


NCWA and Other State  Territory Organisations (Constituent Councils)

National Council of Women of Australia (NCWA) 
Victoria (NCWA) | ncwvic.org.au
Queensland (NCWQ) | ncwq.org.au 
Western Australia (NCWWA) | ncwwa.org.au 
South Australia 95 South Terrace, Adelaide SA 5000
Tasmania 6 Amanda Court, Launceston TAS 7250 
Australian Capital Territory PO Box 3028, Manuka ACT 2603 
Asia Pacific Regional Council (APRC) | http://www.icw-cif.com/04/01.php
International Council of Women - Conseil international des femmes (ICW-CIF) | www.icw-cif.org

Bookmark and Share